Love the Little Things #2

Read

This week I have mostly been reading blogs.  I have really been getting into checking out other blogs on my iPad WordPress reader and others that I don’t seem to be able to follow on there. *chuckle* I’m usually quiet clever honestly, but this blogging lark, HTML, and things that should be simple tech knowledge just evades me for some reason.  I’ll get there.  This week I discovered lots of beautiful photographic blogs whilst joining in with the Siblings feature.  We have ordered a new Nikon D3200 Digital SLR camera and I’m hoping to make my blog much more beautiful too.  If I could just work out how to set out my layout…..

Watched

The Big Bang Theory!  I love it!  When I first started watching Season 1 whilst they were filming Season 7…. I know, I’m always late to the party…. I wasn’t sure what I thought of it.  Sheldon’s character really irritated me *i know*.  I now adore him and everything about the show.  The ways the characters interact with each other, the introduction of women into their lives (Bernadette and Amy) is so much fun to watch.  I will be really sad when it ends…. which I hope won’t be for another few seasons.  My fave episode recently was the Valentines Day episode with Sheldon and Amy’s interaction.  I watch as they come out in the States online, so I won’t reveal anything in case it hasn’t been aired over here yet.  You’re in for a treat though.

Wore

The uggs that I have lived in whilst pregnant with Eden have been put away and I have broken out my grey Bench boots that I love.  Unfortunately, they were the only shoes I brought down with me to the inlaws and I had a MASSIVE wardrobe malfunction in wearing them for the funeral this week.  Check out my What I Wore Wednesday post to see what I’m talking about.

Heard

Mainly the song that I was singing at the funeral on Wednesday.  There You’ll Be – Faith Hill.  My poor husband, I rehearsed several times in the car on the journey down.  I wanted to be desensitised to the emotions as it would be difficult to sing stood next to the coffin, infront of the grieving family.  I did it though, I’m proud to say, I nearly broke down at the end of the first chorus, but managed to pull myself together and finish the song.  I am currently trying to find a song to sing at an event the Saturday night before Mothering Sunday.  The event is to honour, encourage and inspire Mothers.  ‘A grand event at The Grand Hotel’ a 3 course meal with entertainment, of which I am part.  Any song suggestions that you have felt encourage you as a Mum, please enter them in the comment section.  I really don’t want to be too cheesy.  I want to be tasteful but moving… the best I have come up with so far is the one Christina Aguilera dedicated to her Mum a long, long time ago…. *cheesy*, what do you think?

 Watch the video here

Made

So rare is it at the moment that I get the time to make anything.  I used to be very crafty, and love making things from scratch.  I struggle to find the chance now, however, this week I did make funeral favours.  Bizarre, I know, but Richard loved sweets.  His mum said that he adored Haribo, so I made little favours for people to take away from the wake.  It was just mixing up various packets of Haribo bought from the pound shop, putting them into cellophane cones, tying them with some pretty ribbon, and putting a pretty label on.  I wrote on the labels ‘in loving memory’ on one side, and his name in calligraphy on the other.  Nothing spectacular, but it was difficult making 40 of them and watching the two babies whilst the hubby was at work.  His sister emailed me afterwards to thank me for such a lovely touch.  It made it really special to know that such a little thing really blessed the family. 

Haribo.JPG

and lastly…

Driving up and down the country the last couple of weeks has shown me that my babies are pretty awesome travellers, bearing that in mind, although you may still think I’m crazy, we have booked a family holiday for when my husband finishes placement.  Just my husband, the babies and I.  It will be our last chance really to do something like this as Judah will (just) be classed as an infant still on the flight which makes it more manageable financially, and we won’t have to go in the summer holidays (which we would need to if we took the girls).  We figured, it’s kind of like us still going on holiday and the babies just getting dragged around (excuse my expression) rather than in the next couple of years us being dragged around by the children (which totally happened when we took the girls to Butlins when Judah was 3 weeks old).  We are going to Atlantis the Palm, Dubai and Phuket, Thailand.  I cannot wait!!!  Judah is going to love ‘the lost chambers’ our trip to the SeaLife Centre last week inspired the edition of 2 days in Dubai.  Can’t wait to blog about it, just 90 days to go!!! (Not counting or anything)

 

Check out all the other posts linked up over on butwhymummywhy.com by clicking on the badge below

butwhymummywhy

 

14 thoughts on “Love the Little Things #2

  1. Mummy Hearts You says:

    The holiday sounds so amazing! I am pining to go away somewhere hot so I can just jump into a pool to cool off!

  2. Wow I am so very jealous of your holiday. Sounds so amazing!!! I love the big bang theory. I am always late to the show so don’t worry. It usually takes me season 4 or 5 before I hear how amazing a new show is and not so new by then and I have to catch up with everyone else. hahaha It’s hilarious isn’t it. So glad I came across your lovely blog on #littleloves. Enjoyed your post!

  3. Wow your holiday sounds amazing. As does the singing, well done you. I hope it goes well and that you find the right song.
    How exciting about the camera too x

    • Thanks. Yeah still not sure what to sing. Cannot wait for the holiday. In the middle of packing right now and I think it’s my mini light at the end of the tunnel. Trying to pack with 2 babies and my hubby at work is…. interesting lol. Just nipped out for a coffee break 🙂

Leave a Reply

