Pregnancy and Diverticulitis

Pregnancy and Diverticulitis

So I’m now 31 weeks pregnant and for about 4 days I’ve been experiencing pain in my lower left abdomen. I was diagnosed with diverticular disease about 5 years ago when I was passing blood and being examined for bowel cancer. (My auntie had bowel cancer and died at 28 so guess they thought it was more likely). The process of diagnosing was hideous, like it’s not bad enough thinking you may have cancer, well, it wasn’t it was diverticular disease. This is when there are pockets on your colon. Most commonly found in extremely elderly gentlemen. For me I believe it was brought on early by stress, I was in a very volatile marriage at the time and suffering at the hands of my husband with emotional and physical abuse.

Diverticulitis is when things get trapped in those pockets (like seeds) and it becomes inflamed. I was told to avoid seeds etc and have never had a flare up since. Until now, I am not sure what it is but the pain is so localised and so familiar. I cannot work out if Eden is
pressing somehow on these pockets or if something has aggravated it again. It has been 5 years. I am not passing blood, I’m not having any problems with bowel movements (well, anymore than normal, anything is normal when you’re pregnant, am I right?), I just have this severe localised pain.

I rang triage who said to come in. I knew that meant organising someone to watch Judah, and as I’m feeling Eden as normal, I’m pretty convinced this pain isn’t pregnancy related and they will only be doing their best to manage the pain on the maternity ward. I contacted my friend who is a GP and did a lot of his residency on a gynae and obstetrics ward. He suggested if I can cope with the pain til the morning to then go to my GP who will refer me through the proper channels. Otherwise, he foresaw a long night of me sitting around in A&E.

I was recommended to take paracetamol and a warm bath. We don’t have a bath so have been led with a hot water bottle on my lower left side. My friend Pete is on standby if the pain gets unbearable to come and watch Judah whilst James and I go to the hospital. I am trying to just get to the morning.

I was informed by my friend the GP they won’t do the internal scan (colonoscopy) when I am pregnant so would be unable to diagnose as diverticulitis anyway. The antibiotics they would give would be an interesting one as they don’t give out what I would usually need to pregnant women.

I am hoping it is a simple water infection that I am just being a baby about (although my hubby likes to point out that I have a very high pain threshold and he is concerned for me masking my symptoms).

Anyways, at the moment it isn’t really anything, I am just awake and therefore blogging.

The only upside of the horrendous ordeal diagnosing something like this was 5 years ago, was that when I was first pregnant and miscarried, nothing seemed invasive by comparison. I had no quarms about anything they needed to do throughout my subsequent pregnancies, miscarriages and during labour.

Quietly praying to myself that this goes away, doesn’t get worse and doesn’t affect having an early labour (I know I’m being dramatic but the musings of a hormonal woman in pain are hardly ever rational).

Love
Alexandra

Xxx

Leave a Reply

